Tuesday, 6th March 2018 at 7:30pm in the Eastgate Theatre

Philip Higham Susan Tomes
              Philip Higham                Susan Tomes


Beethoven Cello Sonata No.4 in F, Op.102, No.1
Janáček Pohádka
Debussy Selections from Preludes, Book II
John Maxwell Geddes Callanish IV for Solo Cello
Simon Smith Chorale Postlude
Beethoven Cello Sonata No.5 in D, Op.102, No.2

Two of Scotland’s finest chamber musicians join forces for a concert of solo and duo performances. Philip Higham’s solo all-Bach concert was a highlight of our 2016/17 season and Susan Tomes makes a welcome, and long overdue, return to Peebles, having last performed here in 1991 with the Domus Piano Quartet.

Framed between the last two of Beethoven’s great cello sonatas are shorter works for cello and piano by Janáček and Simon Smith (a former pupil of St Mary’s Music School). At the centre of the concert we hear these two superb artists individually as Susan Tomes plays Debussy Preludes and Philip Higham performs a work for solo cello written in 1978 by one of Scotland’s most prolific composers, John Maxwell Geddes.

About Philip Higham and Susan Tomes

To find out more about Philip Higham and Susan Tomes, please visit and (both open in new tabs).

What Others Are Saying

“a major talent...Higham offered object lessons in lyrical sensitivity, musical architecture and expressive insight.”
(Washington Post)

“Susan Tomes is a treasure in our midst.”

Ticket Prices
Adult Non-Members £14 - buy online
The following tickets are only available from the Eastgate Theatre box office
Adult accompanying child under 12 £7
Music in Peebles Members Free - included in subscription
School pupils FREE
Students under 25 in full-time education FREE

EMS logo

This concert is subsidised by Enterprise Music Scotland through funding provided by Creative Scotland.